Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Civil Services Exam Eligibility Criteria

UPSC Civil Services Exam Eligibility Criteria

Civil Services Exam Eligibility Criteria: Union Public Service Commission’s (UPSC) Civil Services Examination eligibility details are mentioned below…
I. Nationality:
(1) For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
(2) For other services, a candidate must be either:
(a) a citizen of India, or
(b) a subject of Nepal, or
(c) a subject of Bhutan, or
(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over toIndiabefore 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling inIndia, or
(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.
II. Age Limit: A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on 1st August, 2014, i.e. he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1982 and not later than 1st August, 1993.
The upper age limit relaxations given below.
(a). The Age relaxable for SC, ST’S candidates 5 years
(b). Age relax able for OBC candidates 3 years
(c). Age relax able for 3 years in case of defence services personnel disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or disturbed area.
(d) . 5 years Age relax able for Ex-service men including commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of a assignment of 5 years military service .(As the date given in advt)
(e). 5 years age relaxable in the case of ECOs /SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years of military service.(As the date given based in advt).
(f). Ten years age relaxation for blind, deaf, deaf, mute and orthopaedically handicapped candidates.
(g). Upto a maximum of five years if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January, 1980 to the 31st day of December, 1989.
(h). Upto a maximum of 10 years in the case of blind, daf-mute and orthopaedically handicapped persons.
III. Minimum Educational Qualification: The candidate must hold a Degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.
i. Candidates who have appeared at an examination the passing of which would render them educationally qualified for the Commission’s examination but have not been informed of the results as also the candidates who intend to appear at such a qualifying examination will also be eligible for admission to the Preliminary Examination.
ii. Candidates possessing professional and technical qualifications which are recognized by Government as equivalent to professional and technical degree would also be eligible for admission to the examination.
IV. Number of Attempts: Maximum of 6 attempts are allowed. No restriction for SC, ST candidates and 9 attempts are allowed for OBC Candidates.
V. Physical Standards: The candidate must be physically fit according to physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination.


Post a Comment